:: Free article content
Authors: Maximum article exposure. Publishers: Reprintable article content.
Featured Articles
Recently Added Articles
Most Viewed Articles
Article Comments
Advanced Article Search
Submit Article
Check Article Status
Author TOS
RSS Article Feeds
Terms of Service

The Inspector Morse Novels
Home Arts & Entertainment Books & Music
By: Carolyn Clayton Email Article
Word Count: 583 Digg it | it | Google it | StumbleUpon it


Invented by Colin Dexter, Inspector Morse has been the hero of a number of novels and even more episodes of the famously successful TV-series.

1975 – Last Bus to Woodstock
Two young women decide to hitchhike instead of waiting for the bus to Woodstock. Later, one of them is found raped and murdered in a car. Morse uses his knowledge about cars to find his suspect.

1976 – Last Seen Waiting

A man who went to Oxford to apply for a job as a school principal waits for the bus home. He meets a girl who seduces him. Later on it comes to light that the girl is a student at said school, and one year later, she suddenly goes missing.

1977 – The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn

The story deals with the staff of the Oxford Foreign Examinations Syndicate. A new member of staff is to be appointed, and the committee disagrees about who to hire. Nicholas Quinn, who gets the job is promptly find murdered a short time later.

1979 – Service of All the Dead

A churchwarden is brutally killed. The police have all but given up, and Morse is on his way to a nice vacation in Greece – but of course cannot resist the temptation of a complicated case.

1981 – The Dead of Jericho

At a party at Oxford, Morse makes the acquaintance of a young woman. Shortly afterward, she is found murdered, and Morse takes over the case.

1983 – The Riddle of the Third Mile

An Oxford dean goes missing, and a few days later, pieces of his bodies are fished out of the river. Morse follows his trail through seedy bars and bordellos.

1986 – The Secret of Annexe 3

It’s New Year’s Eve at a fancy hotel. The morning after, one guest is found murdered. In old thriller tradition, Morse has to interview the guests one by one.

1989 – The Wench is Dead

Morse is lying in the hospital, being bored. He receives a gift – a book about the murder of a young woman in the 1850s. Morse becomes convinced that the wrong men were convicted and killed for the crime and, of course, sets out to find the murderers himself.

1991 – The Jewel That Was Ours

At a hotel, an American tourist is murdered. She owned a precious antique piece of jewelry, which has disappeared. Morse investigates ad soon finds another body he thinks is connected to his case.

1992 – The Way Through the Woods

A year ago, a Swedish woman was murdered. Now the police receive a cryptical poem - the case is reopened, with Morse in the lead.

1994 – The Daughters of Cain

A college don is found stabbed to death. The police have no leads. Once they find the murder weapon though, they have more suspects than Morse would like.

1996 – Death Is Now My Neighbour

The murder of a young physiotherapist leads Morse to a college, where two colleagues fight for a promotion. In the end he has to resort to hiring a known burglar to help him in his investigation.

1999 – The Remorseful Day

Morse is trying to work out an unsolved murder, but his diabetes puts his life in danger.

For more information on the Morse Tour Oxford, check out Brit Movie tours who offer many other tours including the Doctor who tour and much more.

Article Source:

This article has been viewed 845 times.

Rate Article
Rating: 0 / 5 stars - 0 vote(s).

Article Comments
There are no comments for this article.

Leave A Reply
 Your Name
 Your Email Address [will not be published]
 Your Website [optional]
 What is one + three? [tell us you're human]
Notify me of followup comments via email

Related Articles

Copyright © 2020 by All rights reserved.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Submit Article | Editorial